Ghana Speak No. 3 – I see you, you no see me glass

A simple one today:

‘I see you, you no see me glass’ refers to to tinted windows in cars (and probably other things too).

It’s popular here and I’m not sure they have any law on how dark it can be.  There are cars where you do wonder if the driver can actually see out.

We have ‘I see you, you no see me glass’ in our Land Cruiser, and very useful it can be too.  We are often the object of much interest when we drive through traffic with the children in the back. Especially in places where people are selling to your car window.  It can be quite nice when the windows are closed and you don’t have a crowd of people staring in or even trying to put their arms and hands in to pull at the kids.  Although having said that we have had a few people with their noses right up to the glass as they can’t see in from further away!

And finally:

A spot of window shopping Ghana style……

Ochina! x

Leave a Reply

