Quick pics update #12

I thought it was all very well and good giving you a synopsis from our photos but there are lots of days I didn’t take pictures of, or I haven’t used pictures from.  So this quick run down of our days shows what we’ve been up to.

These photos were taken between 17th to 21st May 2013 of the MGGB Tour.  We were still in Norfolk heading towards Lincolnshire.  A run down of those days is as follows:

17 – Went to Holt Country Park for a walk/play, drove to Burnham Thorpe, birth place of Nelson and overnighted at his local pub (which he also frequented), The Lord Nelson.  There was a weekend gathering of Italian Spinone dogs in the village and the pub itself was overrun with them.

IMG_0808

18 – Took a walk to the spot where Lord Nelson was born.  Sadly the house was pulled down years ago but there is a plaque to mark the spot.  Kids played in the village playground. Drove off to stop at another pub ‘The Lifeboat Inn’ in Thornham just down the road.

IMG_0805

19 – Went for a walk along the beach, headed to Hunstanton and went to the Sealife Centre there.  Stopped off at Sandringham Park for a play and walk before staying at another pub ‘The Anvil Inn’ in Congham, Norfolk

IMG_0817 IMG_0824 IMG_0829

20 – Stopped off to see an old friend on our way ‘out’ of Norfolk.  Aubrey’s back is giving him trouble so I am now designated driver – see my post ‘in the driving seat‘ and ‘not again!?‘ about my driving experience!  Overnighted at another pub ‘The Red Lion’ in Ravesby.

Tattershall Castle, Lincolnshire

Tattershall Castle, Lincolnshire

21 – Visited Sibsey Trader Mill, drove into Boston for a little while, went to Tattershall Castle before heading to …… yes you guessed it, another pub!  The Riverside Inn, Southrey.

You can just see all four children at the bottom of the castle.  They loved it as they had audio tours specifically for their age.

You can just see all four children at the bottom of the castle. They loved it as they had audio tours specifically for their age.

I can't say I like being at the top of castles.  Even with no risk of falling unless you jumped I end up a foot back from the wall.  The feeling is not made better by the fact that I worry about all four children toppling over the edge of a wall they can hardly see over the top of!

I can’t say I like being at the top of castles. Even with no risk of falling unless you jumped I end up a foot back from the wall. The feeling is not made better by the fact that I worry about all four children toppling over the edge of a wall they can hardly see over the top of!

View from the top

View from the top

A lot of ale was drunk in those few days, none of it by me!

And finally….

IMG_0867

The children enjoying a late picnic at our last pub stop in Lincolnshire.  Right by a canal and an old railway line/station, now a cycle path.  I think I’d be praying if I had three brothers, too, Isabel.

Ochina! x

Leave a Reply

