The Final Countdown

Well we are into the final countdown and I have very mixed emotions.  There is so much I will miss about our life here but when I think about it most of it is objective.  It is the subjective reasons that are the ones that are more important and that I remind myself of when I start to wonder if we are doing the right thing.  I know we are, I just think it’s hard to leave a life that we have grown as a family in.  After all the children have all lived most of their lives here.

The party gets started

The party gets started

We had our leaving party at the house last night.  A great friend of ours, Davina, organised it.  Everyone who meant something to us was there, from Ama, who was one of the first Ghanaians to work for Sabre taking care of the volunteers, to some of the workmen who work on building the schools to Christina, the owner of Seatop, to current interns and volunteers here with Sabre, to friends of ours we’ve met since here.

The lovely Ama

The lovely Ama

It was great fun; we had a barbecue cooking sausage and goat kebabs, palm wine, kelewele (a delicious plantain snack), food (curry, red red), punch and plenty of beers!  The music blared with sounds of Azunto (a very popular song that has a specific dance) as well as other tunes and the fire crackled.  Unbelievably it rained half way through but this didn’t put anyone off.

I must admit though I had mixed emotions during it.  I still can’t really believe that we are leaving for good and I also know how much I’m going to miss it; the sense of community, the friendliness of the Ghanaians, the freedom we get here. My warm evenings of sitting out under the stars with a cool breeze and cooler drink are now numbered.

And finally…..

What’s a party without a little competition?  I think he was just relieved he didn’t have to dance!

IMG_2693

Ochina! x

7 thoughts on “The Final Countdown

  1. Such a great send off. Thank for shearing the precious moment with us. We look forward to seeing you all. Safe journey and God Bless. Lol Joyce.

    Sent from my iPad

  2. Can hardly believe this is happening and share your mixed emotions.You have certainly made your mark in Ghana and given your family a great start in life.Wishing you & Aubrey all the very best with the next stage of life’s adventure and look forward to catching up sometime when you are back in UK.. X Moyra

Leave a Reply

